No. 51 St. John, Southwark, Volunteer


Southwark St. John Horsleydown Parish
Details below
Who were the Loyal Volunteers ?  See here
Shipping cost is the SAME for 1 to 10 prints – see Shipping and Returns

In stock

  • Disc Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Disc No Hassle Refunds (see Shipping and returns)
  • Disc Secure Payments
  • Stripe
  • Visa Card
  • MasterCard
  • American Express
  • Discover Card
  • PayPal
  • Apple Pay
SKU: BL51 Categories: , ,


This map appeared in “A New General Atlas Containing a Geographical and Historical Account of the World”, published by Daniel Browne et al. in 1721. Its title runs along the top, with a dedication to Sir Peter Delme, Knight and Alderman, in cartouche at top left. The city arms and insignia, compass rose and scale bar feature at the foot of the plate. Reference tables to places in Westminster, London and Southwark appear in panels below the plan.

Southwark St John Horsleydown was a small parish on the south bank of the River Thames in London, opposite the Tower of London. (See map). The name Horsleydown, apparently derived from the “horse lie-down” next to the river, is no longer used. The parish was created by splitting St Olave’s parish in 1733. In the metropolitan re-organisation of 1855 it was grouped into the St Olave District with St Olave’s and St Thomas’s sending a joint representative to the Metropolitan Board of Works and remained as such after the 1889 creation of the County of London. The civil parish became part of the Metropolitan Borough of Bermondsey in 1900 when the St Olave District was abolished, and in 1904 Southwark St John Horsleydown was absorbed into the Bermondsey parish. Since 1965 it has formed part of the London Borough of Southwark.

Additional information

Weight 0.0121 kg
Dimensions 25.5 × 32.5 cm