No. 40 St. Margaret & St. John Westr. Volunteer


St. Margaret and St. John, Westminster
Details below
Who were the Loyal Volunteers ?  See here
Shipping cost is the SAME for 1 to 10 prints – see Shipping and Returns

In stock

  • Disc Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Disc No Hassle Refunds (see Shipping and returns)
  • Disc Secure Payments
  • Stripe
  • Visa Card
  • MasterCard
  • American Express
  • Discover Card
  • PayPal
  • Apple Pay
SKU: BL40 Categories: , ,


Plan of the parishes of St Margaret’s, outlined in blue line, and St James’, delineated in pink, Westminster. A thin red line shows the boundary of the Tothill Fields District. The large 6-petal structure depicted at lower left is Millbank Penitentiary, built in response to requests for prison reform and finally completed in 1821. From a Survey made by I.H. Taylor. No. 22 PARLIAMENT STREET 1828. From the Crace Collection of Maps at the British Library; Copyright © The British Library Board.

St Margaret was an ancient parish in the City and Liberty of Westminster and the county of Middlesex. It included the core of modern Westminster, including the Palace of Westminster and the area around, but not including Westminster Abbey. It was divided into St Margaret’s and St John’s in 1727, to coincide with the building of the Church of St John the Evangelist, constructed by the Commission for Building Fifty New Churches (The Queen Anne Churches) in Smith Square to meet the demands of the growing population, but there continued to be a single vestry for the parishes of St Margaret and St John. This was reformed in 1855 by the Metropolis Management Act, and the two parishes formed the Westminster District until 1887. St Margaret and St John became part of the County of London in 1889. The vestry was abolished in 1900, to be replaced by Westminster City Council, but St Margaret and St John continued to have a nominal existence until 1922.

Additional information

Weight 0.0121 kg
Dimensions 25.25 × 32.5 cm