The unique 4-2-2 was built by Neilson and Company of Glasgow in 1886 as an exhibition locomotive. In 1914 it was placed on the Caledonian Railway duplicate list and renumbered 1123. It entered London, Midland and Scottish Railway service in 1923. The locomotive was withdrawn in 1935, by which time it was the last single-wheeled express engine running in Britain and set aside for preservation. It can be seen today at the Glasgow Museum of Transport in the Riverside Museum, at Pointhouse Quay, Glasgow Harbour.